Skip to content

The Liveable City - London 2018

Liveable City 2018

Liveable City conference in London 18-20 June, 2018

More and more people live in ever-larger cities around the world. It creates a host of challenges, and it has put the question of how to create liveable cities for all on top of the international agenda.

To help further the discussion, the Danish Embassy in UK organises The Liveable City conference in partnership with leading Danish and British stakeholders within the private and public sector. The conference in June, 2018 in London was the 7th of its kind after successful events in Bristol, Birmingham, Manchester, Glasgow, and London.

More than 800 people signed up for the 7 seminars and a reception under the headline The good neighbour. In total, 45 highly influential speakers and chairs at the forefront of their areas of expertise presented during the 3-day conference. They turned the Liveable City conference into a highly inspirational event for all with an interest in creating sustainable and thriving communities.


We hope that our Liveable City conference in Edinburgh in the autumn will be just as successful.

If your company wants to present at the conference in Edinburgh, please contact head of the trade section Mette Diego-Roll by telephone +44 (0)207 333 0220 or by email:

Below you will find an overview of all speakers and chairs at the seminars, along with their presentations for personal use:

Architecture for all – how to increase gender equality in the future city




Angela Brady OBE, Director, Brady Mallalieu Architects


Rita Justesen, Chief Planner and Architecture, Copenhagen City & Port Development

Anna Kerr, Head of International Business, White Arkitekter

Caroline Buckingham, RIBA Vice President Practice & Profession, Caroline Buckingham Architects

Jane Briginshaw, Director, Design England

Louise Wyman, Head of Strategy, Homes England

Anna Schabel, Chair of Women in Architecture and Director, Wilton Studio Ltd.



Climate Adaptation – creating flood resilient urban areas

Pat Fitzsimons, Director, Thames Estuary Partnership

George Warren, Project Manager - London Sustainable Drainage Action Plan, Greater London Authority

Colin Thorne, Professor of Physical Geography, University of Nottingham

Andrew Leadbetter, Sustainable Drainage, Petersborough City Coucil

Susanne Toftegård Nielsen, CEO, FloodFrame

Mario Hesse, City Architect, Aalborg City Council

Chris Fry, Director of Infrastructure & Regeneration, Ramboll

John Rumble, Head of Environmental Resource Planning, Hertfordshire County Council



London on the way - transport-led development

Lisa Taylor, Chief Executive, Future of London

Stephen Willacy, Chief City Architect, Aarhus City Council

Colin Wilson, Head of Regeneration - Old Kent Road, London Borough of Southwark

Helen Fisher, Director Housing, Regeneration & Planning, Lodon Borough of Haringey

Paul McGarry, Head of Future Merton, London Borough of Merton

Alan Pauling, Market Director - Transport, Ramboll

Kay Hughes, Director, Khaa/Sarah Featherstone, Director, Featherstone Young

Heather Cheesbrough, Director of Planning and Strategic Transport, London Borough of Croydon



More people, less space – how to plan for densification in our big cities

Julia Park, Head og Housing Research, Levitt Bernstein and Chair of the RIBA Housing Group

James Murray, Deputy Mayor for Housing, Greater London Authority

Tobias Goevert, Head of Regeneration and Design, London Borough of Harrow

Anna Kerr, Head of International Business, White Arkitekter

Rita Justesen, Chief of Planning & Architecture, Copenhagen City & Port Development

Pat Hayes, Managing Director, BeFirst

Sripriya Sudhakar, Place Shaping Team Leader, London Borough of Tower Hamlets

Tom Shaw, Director for Buildings, Ramboll



District Heating – delivering affordable heat

Ian Manders, UK policy advisor, The Royal Danish Embassy in UK

Richard Long, Business Development Director, ENGIE

Peter North, Senior Manager - Programme Delivery, Sustainable Energy, Greater London Authority

George Munson, Energy and Climate Change Manager, Leeds City Council

Jody Pittaway, Head of Project Development, SSE

Crispyn Matson, UK Director, Ramboll Energy

Ruth Rule, Director, EnergyDirection

Jeff Laider, Head of Sustainability, Enfield Council


Young and old, rich and poor - social integration in urban development

Euan Mills, Urban Future Team Lead, Future Cities Catapult

Stephen Willacy, Chief City Architect, Aarhus City Council

Susan Jayne Carruth, Sustainability specialist, Partner, 3XN

Mathew Ryder, Deputy Mayor for Social Intergration, Social Mobility and Community Engagement, Greater London Authority

Tom Titherington, Executive Director of Property and Growth, Catalyst Housing

Indy Johar, Co-founder, Project 00 & Dark Matter Laboratories