Skip to content

The Liveable City - Edinburgh 2018

More and more people live in ever larger cities around the world. It creates a host of challenges, and it has put the question of how to create liveable cities for all on top of the international agenda. 

To help further the discussion, the Danish Embassy in UK organises The Liveable City conference in partnership with leading UK stakeholders. Denmark has a long tradition of creating beautiful cities with healthy residents and a high quality of living, and The Liveable City conference will be a celebration of great achievements in architecture and urban planning.

The Danish Embassy in the UK invites businesses, politicians, professionals and the general public to take part in the conference’s many talks, seminars and debates. With this Danish-British dialogue, we aim at inspiring each other to find new ways in which our cities can become better places in which to live, work and play.

Due to the success of The Liveable City in Glasgow 2016, we are returning to Scotland for another event, this time in Edinburgh from 13-15 November.


Click on a speaker's name below to see their presentations (if available)

Masterplanning and Urban Development - Putting people first


Julie Wilson, President, Edinburgh Architectural Association


Paul Lawrence, Executive Director of Place, City of Edinburgh Council

Ian Gilzean, Chief Architect, Scottish Government 

Stephen Willacy, Chief City Architect, City of Aarhus

Jacob Kurek, Partner, Henning Larsen Architects

Ian Manson, Chief Executive, Clyde Gateway

Neil Rutherford, Associate Director, Scottish Futures Trust

Ewan Anderson, Partner, 7N Architects

Age Friendly Housing – Homes for young, old and families


Graham Ross, Architect & Urban Designer, Austin-Smith:Lord LLP


Susie Stirling, Head of Placemaking and Design, Scottish Government

Eve McCurrich, Director, Whiteburn Projects

Anne Juel Andersen, Architect and Urban Planner, City of Aalborg

Susanne Hansen, Partner and Creative Director, RUBOW arkitekter A/S

Helena Huws, Head of Destination Development, Scottish Canals

Thomas Nørkær, Architect & Owner, Nørkær + Poulsen

Sarah Buchanan, Business Relationship Manager, Construction Scotland Innovation Centre

Anne Marie Galmstrup, Partner, Galmstrup Ltd

Gavin Thompson, Partner, BuroHappold Engineering

Healthy Cities, Healthy Buildings - How to improve quality of life for all


Rachel Tennant, Chair, Chair at Landscape Institute Scotland 


Daisy Narayanan, Project Director, The City of Edinburgh Council

Stephen Willacy, Chief City Architect, City of Aarhus

Graham Hill, Cities Executive, Arcadis

Liselott Stenfeldt, Team Leader Interactive Spaces CPH, The Alexandra Institute

Russell Jones, Public Health Programme Manager, Glasgow Centre for Population Health

Ólöf Jonsdottir, Head of Public Affairs, Rockwool

Shona Stephen & Jamie Ballantine, Chief Executive & Social Regeneration Manager, Queens Cross Housing Association

Mike Entwistle, Partner, BuroHappold Engineering

University Campuses - A catalyst for growth in cities


Alasdair Adey, Principal Planner, Peter Brett Associates          


Ann Allen, Chair of Architecture and Design Scotland     

Jacob Kurek, Partner, Henning Larsen Architects

Gary Jebb, Director of Estates, The University of Edinburgh

Paul Stallan, Design Director, Stallan-Brand

Ian Van Duivenbode, Principal Building Engineer, Ramboll

Anne Kathrine Overgaard, Head of Office at the Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Southern Denmark

Anne Juel Andersen, Architect and Urban Planner, City of Aalborg


Low Carbon City – Next step for energy efficiency and heat supply


Ian Manders, UK Policy Advisor, Danish Embassy in the UK


Kersti Berge, Director Energy and Climate, The Scottish Government

Paul Moseley, Associate Director, Scottish Futures Trust

Jackie Sayer, Engineer, The Highland Council

Robert Kilpatrick, Assistant Director Estates & Development, University of Strathclyde

Rune Nielsen, Advisor, Danish Energy Agency

Paul Steen, Associate, Ramboll

Ken Brady, Programme Manager, Energy Saving Trust

Kathryn Dapré, Head of Engineering and Energy, NSS Health Facilities Scotland

Regis Lopez, Senior Policy Advisor, The Scottish Government

Stephen Hart, General Manager, Frese

Eoghan Maguire, Head of Business Development, Vattenfall

Janice Pauwels, Sustainable Development Manager, City of Edinburgh Council

Simon Kerr, UK Country Manager, Kamstrup

Mark Palmer, Senior Partner, Max Fordham (Solid Energy)