DISTRICT HEATING MENTOR PROGRAMME

What is the Mentoring Programme?

The Danish Embassy in London, the Danish Board of District Heating (DBDH) and the Danish Energy Agency (DEA) have developed a mentoring programme that matches mentors from Danish municipal district heating companies with mentees from local authorities in the UK. The programme has been in operation since 2020 and is part of the ongoing government-to-government relation between the UK and Denmark. By facilitating a free of charge exchange of experience, knowledge, and best practices around all aspects of district heating, the Programme aims to create long-term mutually valuable cooperation to secure a growing heat networks sector comprising efficient and well-managed district heating schemes across the UK.

Why is it valuable to UK local authorities?

District heating is set to grow exponentially in the UK and especially Scotland over the coming years, and local authorities are set to be at the steering wheel of this development. However, most local authorities currently have limited experience with developing and deploying district heating schemes. Danish counterparts on the other hand have decades of in-depth experience with developing and running heat networks and are open to share their knowledge and learnings. Through the exchange of information facilitated by the mentoring programme, local authorities in the UK can develop and test their plans and concerns with a trusted partner.

How does it work?

The programme consists of a mix of 1-to-1 mentorships combined with a number of group mentoring events. In the 1-to-1 mentoring the mentor is a high-level manager from a Danish district heating company supported by their own back office – allowing for in-depth conversation on all aspects of district heating e.g. planning, project design, procurement, technical issues, economy and financing. The mentee is represented by one main contact from the given UK local authority, but the mentor will ideally work with and involve the relevant personnel and local authorities involved with their respective heat network scheme and/or strategy.

Municipalities currently involved

- 1. Gateshead/Egedal
- 2. Nottingham/Viborg
- 3. Peterborough/Odense (Fjernvarme Fyn)
- 4. Renfrewshire (River Clyde Homes)/Albertslund
- 5. Shetland/Trekantområdet (TVIS)
- 6. Sterling/Brabrand/Aarhus (Kredsløb)
- 7. Sunderland/Esbjerg (TBC)
- 8. Westminster/District Heating in Vestegnen (VEKS)
- 9. West Dunbartonshire (Queens Quay)/Randers (Verdo)