Skip to content

Largest ever Scandinavian Fashion Showcase in London

28.01.2013  17:17
For the first time during London Fashion Week, the Scandinavian countries will present both established and up-and-coming fashion designers at an exhibition at Somerset House. Some of the brands will also be showing at Scoop at the Saatchi Gallery.

                                              One of the designers at Fashion Scandinavia is Danish Anne Sofie Madsen. Photo: Hans Zeuthen.

The exhibition, Fashion Scandinavia (#fashionscandinavia) at Somerset House, will include more than 40 labels and designers from Denmark, Norway and Sweden, and promises to deliver a fresh look at the Scandinavian cool, with an engaging and exciting line-up.

The exhibition includes a curated section focusing on up-and-coming designers, Fashion Scandinavia – Movement, which is part of the International Fashion Showcase organised by the British Council. Four emerging talents from each country will be presenting their latest collections and for the majority this will be their debut at London Fashion Week.

Fashion Scandinavia is styled and curated by the Danish fashion stylist and writer Dorothea Gundtoft. Gundtoft’s new fashion book, Fashion Scandinavia: Contemporary Cool, will be launched as part of the exhibition. The book, which profiles 56 Scandinavian designers, is published by Thames and Hudson.

The space is designed by London-based designers Amy Hunting and Oscar Narud. Hunting & Narud design and make spaces, exhibitions and products. The Norwegian duo draw on their heritage, and for this show they have incorporated natural Nordic materials and elements.

Arriving at Somerset House, visitors will have the opportunity to relax in the Craftmen’s Lounge – a bar and lounge area with design displays and iconic furniture by leading Scandinavian cabinetmakers. The bar offers exciting drinks from Scandinavian gourmet brewers, micro distilleries and winemakers.

The curator of Fashion Scandinavia, Dorothea Gundtoft, says:

‘The book and exhibition, Fashion Scandinavia, heralds a new movement in fashion - the arrival of Scandinavian designers onto the world scene. With attention to detail and high quality of materials so iconic in Scandinavian design, this will be the first and largest Exhibition & Showroom space at an International Fashion Week yet. On top of it, it will be presented at the centre of London Fashion Week - Somerset House. It's a very exciting moment!’

Fashion Scandinavia is organised by the Danish Embassy in London, and Dansk Fashion & Textile in close co-operation with the Norwegian Embassy, Norwegian Fashion Institute, Embassy of Sweden and Business Sweden. The exhibition is co-financed by the partners involved and also co-financed by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Denmark, The Trade Council.

To view the complete Brand Bible, please click here.

Opening hours:
Friday 15 February – Monday 18 February: 10:00 – 19:00
Tuesday 19 February: 10:00 – 18:00

Fashion Scandinavia Exhibitors

Denmark
By Malene Birger www.bymalenebirger.com
Becksondergaard www.becksondergaard.com
DAY BIRGER ET MIKKELSEN www.day.dk
Dorothea Gundtoft www.dorotheagundtoft.com
Elise Gug www.elisegug.dk
Freya Dalsjö www.freyadalsjo.com
Ganni www.ganni.dk 
Gudrun & Gudrun www.gudrungudrun.com
Henrik Vibskov www.henrikvibskov.com  
Ilse Jacobsen www.ilsejacobsen.dk
LINDBERG www.lindberg.com  
Mads Nørgaard www.madsnorgaard.dk  
Margit Brandt www.margitbrandt.eu
Malou Sander www.malousander.dk
MUUSE x Yvonne Laufer www.muuse.com www.yvonnelaufer.info/
Peter Jensen www.peterjensen.co.uk
Stine Goya www.stinegoya.com
Vadum www.vadum-cph.com
Wood Wood www.woodwood.dk

Norway
Haaning & Htoon www.haaningandhtoon.com
Helje Hamre www.heljehamre.com
Kristofer Kongshaug www.kristoferkongshaug.com 
FWSS www.fallwinterspringsummer.com 
Veronica B. Vallenes www.veronicabvallenes.com 

Sweden
ALTEWAISAOME www.altewaisaome.com
Billy and I www.billyandi.com
Common www.commonaffairs.se
Dagmar www.houseofdagmar.se 
Maska www.maskaknits.com/en/
Rodebjer www.rodebjer.com

The International Fashion Showcase: Fashion Scandinavia – Movement

Denmark
Anne Sofie Madsen www.annesofiemadsen.com
Astrid Andersen www.astridandersen.com
Freya Dalsjö www.freyadalsjo.com
Trine Hav Christensen www.trinehavchristensen.com

Norway
Ingvild Abrahamsen www.ingvildabrahamsen.com 
Kristofer Kongshaug www.kristoferkongshaug.com 
Paa Luis Sanchez www.paalluissanchez.com
Trami Ngo

Sweden
ALTEWAISAOME www.altewaisaome.com
Johanna Pihl www.johannapihl.com
Lamija Suljevic www.lamija.se 
Sofia Bahlner

Exhibitors in the Craftmen’s Lounge
Bang & Olufsen www.bang-olufsen.com/en
Bodenmark www.bodenmark.dk
Carl Hansen & Son www.carlhansen.dk  
Georg Jensen www.georgjensen.com
Renouve www.renouve.com 
Snedkergaarden www.snedkergaarden.com

Bar Suppliers
Ebeltoft Gaardbryggeri www.ebeltoftgaardbryggeri.dk  
Lilleø Vineyard www.clausmeyer.dk/en/the_island_lilleoe.html 
Spirit of Hven www.backafallsbyn.se 
To Øl www.to-ol.dk

Fashion Scandinavia at London Fashion Week
15–19 February 2013
Somerset House (West Wing)
London WC2R 1LA

Scoop
10-12 February 2013
Saatchi Gallery
King's Road
London

Press Contact - Denmark
Peter Krause
Press Attaché
Embassy of Denmark, London
E: petkra@um.dk
T:  +44 (0)20 7333 0256 
M: +44 (0)7914 073 763

Press Contact – Norway
Siri Aronsen
Press, Information & Cultural Affairs
Norwegian Embassy, London
E: siri.aronsen@mfa.no
T: +44 (0)20 7591 5525

Press Contact - Sweden
Tove Westling
Director
Varg PR & Communication
E: tove@varg.co.uk
T: +44 (0) 207 323 2115