Skip to content

Danish Embassy Art Prize

The Danish Embassy Art Prize is an annual art competition for Danish art students in the UK. The recipient of the prize will have the unique possibility of exhibiting at the Royal Danish Embassy in London. The deadline for applications is 15 December 2017.

Danish Embassy Art Prize is an annual prize-giving event for UK-based artists from Denmark. It aims to showcase emerging artists, and is open to BA and MA students from Denmark studying at or recently graduated from UK-based art programmes (up to 24 months following graduation). Previous recipients of the prize include Birk Thomassen, Mads Holm, Eva Lerche- Lerchenborg, Ragna Mouritzen, Asger Harbou Gjerdevik, Christian Brehms, Maja Theodoraki, Robin Monies, Lars Birk, Wendy Plovmand, Mathilde Jensen and Janne Malmros.

The recipient of the Danish Embassy Art Prize will be offered an exhibition at the Royal Danish Embassy in London for the duration of one year. As part of this, an opening reception will be organised for the artist. Furthermore, the recipient will receive £1000 towards the materials, installation and transport costs of their exhibition.

The selection panel for this year’s prize include Marie Nipper, Interim Artistic Director at Tate Liverpool previously Chief Curator at AROS, Mads Damsbo, Director, Brandts Art Museum in Denmark and Barry Phipps, Director of Visual Art, The Møller Centre and Fellow, Churchill College, University of Cambridge. The recipient of the Danish Embassy Art Prize will be offered an exhibition at the Royal Danish Embassy in London for the duration of one year. As part of this, an opening reception will be organised for the artist. Furthermore, the recipient will receive £1000 towards the materials, installation and transport costs of their exhibition.

In March 2017 photographer Birk Thomassen won the prize and opened his year-long exhibition of photographs entitled “Core”.

Entries should include an exhibition proposal, along with images of selected art works (max. 10 images) and a copy of your CV. All works must be wall mountable,  i.e. paintings, graphic arts, photography, or alternatively reliefs and/or wall sculptures.

The exhibition winner will be announced on Facebook, Twitter and in the Embassy’s monthly cultural newsletter.

Previous winners of the Embassy Art Prize:

2017 Birk Thomassen: http://birkthomassen.tumblr.com/
2016 Mads Holm http://madsholm.com/index.php
2015 Eva Lerche-Lerchenborg www.evalerche.com
2014 Ragna Mouritzen www.ragnamouritzen.com
2013 Asger Harbou Gjerdevik www.asgerharbougjerdevik.tumblr.com
2012 Christian R. Brems www.christianbrems.com
2012 Maja Theodoraki www.majatheodoraki.com
2011 Robin Monies www.robinmonies.com
2011 Lars Birk www.larsbirk.dk
2010 Wendy Plovmand www.wendyplovmand.com
2009 Mathilde Jensen www.mathildejensen.dk
2009 Janne Malmros www.jannemalmros.com